Te Puiaki Kaipūtaiao Ānamata The Prime Minister’s Future Scientist Prize


The closing date of this Prize has been extended by a few days at now closes at 1:00pm on 4 November.



2022 round opens: 4 August 2022

2022 round closes: 1:00pm, 4 November 2022

Tēnā koe

Welcome to the Prime Minister’s Future Scientist Prize.  The 2022 round is now open. You will find information about the Prize on this page and once you have read this page there is important information about the nomination and application process here

We recommend you read all the information and if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us at pmscienceprizes@royalsociety.org.nz

There is also the option through the portal for the nominee (student) to submit their report in Teo Reo if they wish once they have been nominated.

Ngā mihi

Prime Minister’s Science Prize Secretariat


About the Prize



  • This prize is for a Year 12 or Year 13 student tauira who has undertaken a science research, mathematics, technological or an engineering project and who is studying in a New Zealand registered school.
  • The student tauira must be a New Zealand citizen or a New Zealand permanent resident.
  • The student tauira must be nominated for this Prize.  The nominator is the first to start the application process through the portal.



  • This Prize is valued at $50,000 and is to be used to support the recipient’s tertiary education.



Judging is based on the following criteria.

  • Quality of literature review and objective setting process.
  • The quality of the design or investigative process for the research or development.
  • Execution of the developmental or investigative process.
  • Soundness of the interpretation of data and results.
  • The quality of conclusions reached in regard to application of the project or further work.


How to nominate

Once the nominator has read all of the information on this page they can click on ‘nominate now’  which will provides more details of what they are required to do next Nominate Now




The secretariat gives no undertaking to keep confidential any information provided in the on-line entry form unless this is identified as information that should be treated as such. Information may, for example, be used to prepare promotional material for the Prize in future years.

Please note that information submitted on the entry form may be subject to the Official Information Act.


Selection panel

The 2022 panellists are:

Chandar Dewan (Chair), Tangaroa College

Dr Htin Lin Aung

Sarah Hay, NZASE, Iona College

Mayada Ghanim

Dr Sereana Naepi


Panellists are appointed by the Pou Whakahaere Chief Executive of Royal Society Te Apārangi based on the recommendation of the panel Chairs and secretariat. Appointments are made on a year-by-year basis for each calendar year. Panellists can be appointed for more than one year.  Panellists must be experienced in an appropriate field or community and may be drawn from outside New Zealand if necessary.

Panels will consist of established leaders and researchers in their field, their research and in their communities.  We will also aim to bring emerging people to panels to ensure diverse views and allow for the development of people and new talent.

In considering the suitability of potential panellists, the following requirements for panel composition is considered as appropriate:

  • Mix of discipline/expertise
  • Sector and institutional balance
  • Geographic representation
  • Ethnicity
  • Gender balance.

Royal Society Te Apārangi is committed to following best practice in being inclusive of diversity within our activities.

It is recognised that occasionally members of the selection panel will know applicants or have other conflicts of interest. They will be expected to declare all such knowledge and conflicts of interest. In cases where an applicant is the colleague of a panelist, the Chair of the selection panel will rule if this conflict is significant enough for the panelist to be stood down from the panel for that entry. (In the case of the Chair having a conflict of interest the decision will be made by another member of the panel who has been identified in this role at the beginning of the process).

The selection panel will not enter into any correspondence concerning its deliberations. All inquiries should be directed to the secretariat. Note that information on matters such as ranking, or names of unsuccessful entrants, will not be disclosed.




  • This Prize is to be used to support the winner with their tertiary education studies.
  • The winner of this Prize may be expected to be involved in some promotional opportunities appropriate for a recipient of this Prize.



  • The winner is expected to make themselves available for half a day January/February to meet with the Prime Minister’s Science Prize media liaison personnel in preparation of media material and photos.
  • The winner will be announced in February/March/April.  (date to be confirmed)
  • The winner will be expected to make themselves available for that announcement in Wellington.



Applications must be received through the portal  by 1:00pm on Tuesday 1 November 2022.  Late applications will not be accepted.



Need help?  Have other pātai questions?

Ko te Kaiwhakahaere the Secretariat for The Prime Minister’s Science Prizes is Royal Society Te Apārangi.  Contact details are:

Te Kaiwhakahaere the Secretariat
The Prime Minister’s Science Prizes
Royal Society Te Apārangi
PO Box 598

Waea telephone: (04) 470 5762

Īmēra email: pmscienceprizes@royalsociety.org.nz






Supported by the New Zealand Government with funding from the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment.  Nā Te Hīkina Whakatutuki te mana hāpai.