Prime Minister’s Prize Winners announced on 21 March

Yesterday the five recipients of the prestigious Prime Minister’s Science Prizes were announced at an award ceremony held at Parliament, attended by Prime Minister Bill English and Science and Innovation Minister Paul Goldsmith, together with two hundred guests. The Prime Minister’s Future Scientist Prize was awarded to Former Onslow College pupil Catherine Pot. Read … Read More

Prizes bring international acknowledgement

Winning the 2014 Prime Minister’s Science Prize was a huge boost in confidence for researchers involved in the He Kainga Oranga/Housing and Health Research Programme, led by Professor Philippa Howden-Chapman from the University of Otago. “Many in our group are young researchers so it was a boost and affirmation for … Read More

Hard to win but a great Prize!

Professors John Boys and Grant Covic from the University of Auckland won the 2013 Prime Minister’s Science Prize for world-leading inductive power transfer (IPT), which is the high-efficiency transfer of electricity across large air gaps. “We could never have made the progress that we have without the Prime Minister’s Science … Read More